The Meadow

The Meadow (Edinburgh, UK) Spring

Everyone likes to reminisce  about the past. “i used to do this….Ive been to this place…” Well.. at a young age of 22, I like to reminisce about the past too and I’m really proud and thankful that throughout my 5 yrs in University, every year has been truly different and rewarding.

Last semester (Jan 2010), I have the honor of doing an exchange program in University of Edinburgh, UK. So, right after New year, I packed my bag and took travel to Changi airport… ready to start my semester. Every year, I did the same thing. I packed my bag full with clothes, food and shoes and get ready to start my new semester in Melbounrne. This time, it was the same… except that the destination is completely different. its half way across the world to a place where I have completely no idea what it was like. I never heard of anyone studying in Edinburgh (except for a friend of a friend who has a friend that study Medicine in Edinburgh) and the only thing that I know about Scotland is that its so far up in the north…. guys actually wear skirt instead of pants and drink hard Whiskey instead of light beers!

So… I went.

Landed in London on the day that its had the heaviest snow storm. All the trains and planes were canceled because of the terrible weather and the first english accent I heard (other than the stern immigration officer) is the journalist in BBC news, reporting.. “The worst winter in UK history…. Schools were expected to close for children’s safety and families were advised to stay indoor whenever possible….Driving along the highway towards scotland direction is extremely dangerous and we expect the weather to get worse in the next few days”

 

Very welcoming indeed…. I heard this news in Budget car rental, getting ready to rent a french car so that my brother and I can drive up to Scotland. For a person who grew up in a tropical country, I feel like I was in north pole (LITERALLY)!

 

Good news is… I survived and truly celebrated my time there =) Now, when I think of scotland, I dont think of guys in skirts and whiskey (although I did see guys in kilts and drink whiskey). Instead, I thought of walking home through the meadow everyday, getting drunk in the meadow, having late night parties in the meadow, reading storybooks in the meadow, taking a nap in the meadow, having BBQ in the meadow…….etc. Edinburgh is a dream…. my experience there changes from drastic winter to the warm welcoming spring..just like how the meadow tress bares in winter and bloom again in spring.

~ by Alicia on October 15, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
